Going The Right Way

road-sun-rays-path

I know it has been quite a while since I have made an appearance. All I can say is life has gotten in the way. I have a long list of excuses, but I won’t bore you with them. I have had a lot going on, but doesn’t everyone? There has been a great deal of soul searching and agonizing over life choices about careers, houses, and places to live. Which brings me to a topic that I have been thinking about for months.

A while ago my Ladies Bible study group did James McDonald’s study Gripped By the Greatness of God. There were some fantastic insights in the study and I think I will go through the book again soon, but one of the concepts that stood out the most to me was on the sovereignty of God.

I know I am not alone in the desire to seek God for decision making. Sometimes I pray and pray with no evident result. Yet I know He hears my prayers.   

The eyes of the Lord are toward the righteous and His ears                                                          are open to their cry. (Psalms 34:15, NASB)

James McDonald used an analogy that I have thought about often. He likened our lives to a boat trip. God has our destination planned, but there is more than one way to get there. God is going to get me to the place He wants me to be. Nothing I do is going to mess things up so badly that I don’t go where God is taking me. I like that. I like to know that when I am making choices, God is with me for the ride and He is always going to get me where He wants me and when He wants me to get there.

which God will bring about in his own time—God, the blessed and only Ruler, the King of kings and Lord of lords, (1Timothy 6:15, NIV)

 

 

