Be The Good

img_0275

A couple of weeks ago I went to the copy room to make some copies (obviously). I stood at the copier, waiting for my papers to be completed. I glanced across the hall and read the classroom door of a co-worker. “Believe there is is good in the world.” Hmm. Not enough of it. Racial tensions escalating. Politics heating up. I get really tired of this world sometimes. It seems the good is outbalanced by all the rest.

My negative thoughts continued as I smirked at the offending door. Then it was time to change classes and students began passing through the hallway. One of my paraprofessionals walked by with one of my students in a wheelchair. As children passed by my student I was surprised to see several boys stop and speak to him. One or two patted him as they walked by. He was grinning from ear to ear. My eyes welled up with tears.

Students with special needs are so often ignored. They may be stared at and whispered about, but it isn’t often they are made to be a part of things. Yet, here were all of these children stopping in the hallway to speak to this boy.

I glanced up and saw my co-worker’s door again. This time “Be The Good” stood out to me. There are many people who are “being the good,” and I need to try harder to be one of them. I too often let my world-weary negativity affect my outlook and I know it affects others. I don’t want to be Debbie Downer.

I’ve been reading a devotional on my Bible app that is adapted from  Joyce Meyer’s The Mind Connection. Joyce talks about how important it is to control the thoughts we have. It is so easy to hear the devil’s lies and believe them for the truth. Joyce recommends speaking out loud God’s truths we find in the Bible. For me, it is a continual struggle to stay positive, but I’m trying.

Finally, brothers and sisters, whatever is true, whatever is noble, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is admirable—if anything is excellent or praiseworthy—think about such things.                                          Philippians 4:8 New International Version (NIV)
